Met AGMA Negotiating Committee Update

Published May 11, 2021   |  By Musical Artists  |  Post in All Areas

The Met AGMA Negotiating committee is pleased to announce a tentative agreement with the Metropolitan Opera.

The bridge pay agreement remains in effect for Met Artists during this time. We will begin our ratification process on May 24 and have more details to share with you.

The preparation for this process began in Summer 2020, during the hardest time of our lives and careers. Now, we are filled with hope as we see New York City coming back to life. We are so excited to return to a better, safer, more equitable Met and see our beloved audience again. We built a better Met and we believe many of the terms in this agreement will change our industry for the better.

The positive messages from the AGMA community carried and motivated our 36-person Negotiating Committee through these emotional months. We thank you for your support and solidarity and we wish our fellow unions the very best in resolving differences with the Met.

We will be back in touch before ratification and will dedicate time to meet with each Met working group to discuss how this new contract will impact AGMA members. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to Ned Hanlon, Negotiating Committee Chair, at, Eastern Counsel Sam Wheeler,, or any of your delegates and committee members.

In solidarity,

Your Met AGMA Negotiating Committee:

Ned Hanlon, Committee Chair; Ross Benoliel, Chorister; Richard Bernstein, Soloist; Shay Bland, Dancer; Helena Brown, Extra Chorister; Antuan Byers, Dancer; Stephanie Chigas, Chorister; Florencio Cora, Staff Performer; Lianne Coble-Dispensa, Chorister; Jōvan Dansberry, Dancer; Karen Dixon, Chorister; Anne Dyas, Staff Performer; Tobin Eason, Dancer; Ashley Emerson, Soloist; Kenneth Floyd, Chorister; Theresa Ganley, Stage Manager; Katharine Goeldner, Soloist; David Gonsier, Dancer; Katherine Hozier, Dancer; Mary Hughes, Chorister; Nathaniel Hunt, Dancer; Matthew Kernisky, Staff Performer; Jarrod Lee, Extra Chorister; Shawna Lucey, Stage Director; Megan Marino Mayes, Soloist; Brandon Mayberry, Chorister; Scott Moon, Stage Manager; Maria Phegan, Dancer; Daniel Rigazzi, Stage Director; Mark Schowalter, Soloist; Elizabeth Sciblo, Soloist Delegate; Bradley Schelver, Dancer; Marcus Shields, Stage Director; Daniel Smith, Chorister; Andrew Stenson, Soloist; Sarah Weber-Gallo, Dancer